6°54'16.5"N 79°52'02.2"E

නිදහස් අනුස්මරණ ශාලාව

Independence Memorial Hall


Location Information

Western Province



Divisional Secretariats



Independence Memorial Hall

Click the photo for 360 °  View 

Independence Memorial Hall (also known as Independence Commemoration Hall) is a national monument in Sri Lanka built for commemoration of the independence of Sri Lanka from British rule with the restoration of full governing responsibility to a Ceylonese-elected legislature in February 4, 1948. It is located in Independence Square (formally Torrington Square) in the Cinnamon Gardens, Colombo. It also houses the Independence Memorial Museum.

The monument was built at the location where the formal ceremony marking the start of self-rule, with the opening of the first parliament by Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester, occurred at a special podium on February 4, 1948. Located at the head of the monument is the statue of the first prime minister of the country, Rt. Hon. Don Stephen Senanayake "The Father of the Nation". Most of the annual National Independence Day celebrations have been held here. Apart from a monument, it served as the ceremonial assembly hall for the Senate of Ceylon and the House of Representatives of Ceylon until the parliament was moved to the new parliament complex. Currently, it is the venue for religious events and annual national day celebrations.


References & External Links