top of page

Selected Category

UNESCO Heritage Sites

Eight sites of Sri Lanka have been inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage. These include 6 cultural and 2 natural sites.

The sites are namely, the ancient city of Polonnaruwa (1982), the ancient city of Sigiriya (1982), the Golden Temple of Dambulla (1991), the old town of Galle and its fortifications (1988), the sacred city of Anuradhapura (1982), the sacred city of Kandy (1988).

The natural sites include Sinharaja Forest Reserve (1988) and the Central Highlands of Sri Lanka (2010).

Other Categories

bottom of page